On my walk today…..

Sometimes I walk and think; other times I just walk

Infrastructure

on October 30, 2012

Some of the roads near my house are so bad that it’s reminiscent of driving on an old country road with the gravel pinging the car, no matter how slow you go.

Imagine my surprise when I was driving one morning and realized that they had restriped the asphalt!  They may have just painted a bunch of rocks because there wasn’t much surface for the stripes.

A few weeks later, they demolished and rebuilt all of the street corners with the yellow bumpy pads for all of the (zero) blind walkers in the neighborhood.  They are in greater danger of falling into a pothole than they are of stepping out into traffic.   I imagine the moms with sleeping babies in strollers are not happy about pushing the stroller over the yellow bumpy pads.

When I was walking across the yellow bumpy pads, I realized that if someone followed the directionality of the pads, they would end up walking kitty corner into the intersection.  In order to cross the street correctly, you have to pivot 90 degrees from the direction of the pad.

I don’t understand painting stripes on rocks and I don’t understand putting in pads that direct walkers into a diagonal, and unsafe, path.

Leave a Reply

